OK, so now that you know that I am an official doubter, I have some doubts, I think I may be under some kind of surveillance, but can’t really prove it. It all started when I started to post my comments in blogs that had to do with the Sandy Hook Hoax, Conspiracy, etc…or just not known yet what is the truth of that event. Again, to reiterate, I’m no conspiracy theorist, but I am an official doubter, so much so, I started tweeting and asking why the main stream media and people like Anderson Cooper, were not looking into the many discrepancies of that day. It still irritates me. 

Then my Blackberry phone went out, or started to fritz out meaning that it would black out. I had been planning to update to a newer Android phone as well, so it did not really phase me when I went I ordered a new phone on line.  The first little clue, in that I might be under surveillance is that the order took longer than usual, and the phone seemed to take a detour before it was shipped me, as evidenced by the shipping manifest. But not to worry, why should I worry?  Still it was odd. Then the next odd thing that happened, is that of course, this was a new phone that I would have to get used to using. I had been blissfully happy with my Blackberry, not desiring all the new tools of the new android phones and everything was different, so there was a learning curve I will admit. 

 But the odd thing, is that this phone had somewhat of a mind of it’s own. It would have favorite radio stations, sports teams, etc. in another part of the country, it would be set to time zones that weren’t mine, and when near any kind of speakers, the speakers would buzz.  OK, so now the latest Colombo episode explained that phenomena to me last night, in that “bugs” can create electrical disturbances, so maybe, just maybe I was being “bugged”.  But why?

It seemed very unlikely to me, I don’t fit the profile, since I have a pretty normal and mundane life, that does not include anything of interest to anyone. Spying on me, would be like, well spying on “Truman” on the Truman Show.  Just an ordinary day of brushing teeth, going to work, talking with family, eating, working, driving and sleeping. Not a good use of government money, and I know they are short there. Someone in the spy department probably needs to be sequestered as well.

 I don’t even have any exceptional hobbies or interests that would make for good gossip.  So then, the question would have to be, am I slowly going insane here and becoming delusional, or is something actually happening?

I tried to exchange my phone, soon after I found out about it’s eccentricities but found out, that I could not simply exchange it at the phone store, for some reason I had to send it back, the way I got it and get another one on-line.  This was something new as well and not required as before.

I thought, well I better keep my eyes and ears open, and it seemed to me, as well I was being followed. It wasn’t anything I could put my finger on, except to say, I would notice an unmarked white van, dark windows in or near my perimeter area of driving, there might also be a black or red car, to change it up, but again nothing definitive, nothing that I could verify. I started to act erratically and take great pains to avoid being followed if I could, even I was only going to work, or the store or to a friend’s house.  I felt very silly, it was all so James Bond.

I noticed one other thing, as well that was strange about my phone and when I talked with a friend who actually had been under surveillance at one point in her life (due to her crazy ex-boyfriend), she explained, it might not be me at all, but perhaps people that I would or could possibly associate with on these “conspiracy” blogs. After all, who were these people anyway? They couldn’t all possibly be just mildly curious doubters like myself, they might have other interests and intentions. She advised me to stay away and that sounded like good advice.

And so I have, for the most part, I still have my opinions, but they are hardly radical, mostly I have just learned not to accept everything at face value anymore and keep my opinions to myself. If it sounds like a crazy story, then well, it just might be that, “a crazy story”. And if the facts come in, too fast and furious and the media tries to wrap it all up, like a great big present, I don’t have to buy it or open it.

Still, when you think about the “right to privacy” what exactly does that mean today? If you go to the 7-11 down the street, you probably were snapped at the light, by the camera above the light, and the surveillance cameras inside of the store. If you happen to pass someone on the street who is taking a picture with their phone, you could as easily get in their way, and become a part of the picture.  Your phone calls can be recorded, your car, if you have On-Star, your phone can work spying on you whether you are aware of it or not, and Facebook, lets the whole world what you are up to, unless you have privacy features who limit who can see that information. But all that privacy goes away if you are being spied on.

I am happy I live in a part of the world, where people actually care about privacy. When the city decided to have surveillance cameras in mostly a residential neighborhood for the good of “Homeland Security” and had purchased some “drones” there was an outcry. Not in our backyard. 

So, am I being spied on? Maybe? It’s hard to say, but I’m not going to lose sleep over it only because who ever “they” are, will come to the wise conclusion there better uses for their limited resources. I got myself a copy of 1984 and listened to in my car, with hope that whoever was listening in on me, might even feel a little bit ashamed of themselves for doing it. It also reminded me of how precious a commodity privacy can be. I guess, the bigger question is, are we “all” being spied on, in some fashion or another, and should we care?

 

